Runner Woes

Today I have finally accepted that it is OK to listen to my body and back off on my running plan.

Recap: I ran the Marine Corps Marathon in October, my second ever full marathon.  Shortly thereafter, I signed up for the Coastal Running Festival in Delaware, determined to run my third marathon.  I am also a part of the 50 States Half Marathon Club and so I wanted to run a race in my seventh state.

img_4212

Anyways, this entire month of January I have been fighting off a stubborn cold.  My marathon training was to start the first week of January, but unfortunately I was couch bound with aches, chills and an upper respiratory infection.  Every time I gained a little headway, I would go for a run, only to suffer later.  I haven’t run more than 6 miles in weeks.

Now it is February first.  I have officially dropped down to the half marathon, accepting that if I can’t get my health in line this month then I will have to defer the race.  It would be hugely disappointing, of course, but it is also a relief to accept that it’s OK.  A huge weight off of my shoulders, in fact.

So, I will take this opportunity to rebuild my mental, physical and emotional health.  I’m hoping to gain some strength for these next two months and not focus so much on mileage.

 

 

Leave a Reply

